Morgan Heritage to release first album in five years Image

by Biko Kennedy

Morgan Heritage to release first album in five years entitled Here Come The Kings

With a mission to "stimulate the minds of the people and let them know what we've created," Morgan Heritage preps their first studio album since 2008aptly titled Here Come The Kings.


Scheduled to be released June 11th by VP Records/ CTBC Music, Here Come The Kings includes collaborations with producers like Lamar Brown (Notice Productions), Shane C. Brown (Juke Boxx Productions) and Jason "J-Vibe" Farmer.


With this collaborative effort, the band – comprising of lead vocalist Peetah Morgan, UnaMorgan (keyboards/vocals), Gramps Morgan (keyboards/vocals), Nakhamyah 'Lukes' Morgan (rhythm guitar) and Memmalatel 'Mr Mojo' Morgan (percussion/vocals) - is now found exploringnew sounds that fuse roots, R&B, and a hint of dancehall.


"Roots Reggae is alive and well outside of the island of Jamaica," Gramps declares. "It's not about changing the message, but delivering the message to a new generation."


In February fans got to hear a sample of the upcoming record with the release of the lead single off the album; 'Perfect Love Song' produced by Linton "TJ" White, Andrew Myrie and Morgan Heritage, with Gramps Morgan deejaying for the first time on a Morgan Heritage song in over 10 years. A video for the single in currently in post-production where director Spencer Antle of Island Company filmed the self-appointed Royal Family of Reggae in the sunny Little Haiti neighbourhood of Miami, Florida.


In a recent interview with Bobie-lee Dixon of Guardian Media, Peetah Morgan explains that "Here Come the Kings is really the best of Morgan Heritage," before adding that "we have found an updated way to incorporate all genres of music into this album. All music has evolved from its original state. We keep the foundation with a reggae vibe, must have that, reggae ah d roots…cyah step away from that, but we also acknowledge other genres."


"You will find a bit of everything on this album, from social commentary to love songs,"annexed Gramps Morgan. "As Rastafarians we always sing about what's going on in society."


According to World of Music Central Peetah explains "Shabba, Shaggy, these people captivated foreign markets because they were different, but still 100% Jamaican. Reggae artists need to realize that what we do is precious. We must value what we have because the public wants us for who we are."


"We're a lot more confident and mature than what you heard 5 years ago," asserts Peetah. "The musicality of this project is attractive to the young generation while maintaining the uplifting content that we're known for," he adds.


Morgan Heritage - Perfect Love Song [Beyond the Scenes]



1. Man Has Forgotten

2. Here Come The Kings

3. Holla

4. Call To Me

5. Perfect Love Song

6. The Return

7. Looking For The Roots

8. Love Stoned

9. Girl Is Mine

10. Dem Ah Run Come

11. Ends Nah Meet

12. Stand Up


Image A music aficionado redefining possibilities while pushing the limits of success...
view all



Artist Title Album / Riddim Label / Producer iTunes Social  
You have not yet added any tracks.