Joe Higgs' 'Unity is Power' album to be re-released Image

by Biko Kennedy

An instrumental figure structuring the basis of Jamaican music in the 1950's, Joe Higgs' sophomore album, 'Unity is Power' – released in 1979 on the Island Records label – will see a re-released on Pressure Sounds this coming August.

Packaged as a single 180 gram vinyl LP and a single CD set, the original tracklist will comprise of 2 additional tracks on the CD and available through Pressure Sounds official website with the full release date taking place the 27th of August.


2.One Man Couchie
3.Unity Is Power
4.Neither Gold Nor Silver
5.Love Can't Be Wrong
7.Small World
8.Think Of The Moment
9.Part Of My Heart
10.Sons Of Garvey

Credits from the album;

Backing Vocals – Blossom Johnson, Camile Lewis, Sylvia Richards (2)
Bass – Earl 'Bagga' Walker*, Boris Gardiner
Drums – Carlton "Santa" Davis
Engineer – Boris Gardiner
Guitar – Anthony "Sangie" Davis, Dalton Brown*Guitar, Harmonica – Stephen "Cat" Coore*Liner Notes – Diane C. Ellis*Mastered By – Jonz*Organ, Electric Piano, Synthesizer – Keith Sterling
Percussion – Alvin Houghton*Piano – Harold Butler, Paul 'Pablo' Dixon*Producer – Ronnie Burke
Technician [Technical Adviser] – Jimmy Radway
 Tenor Saxophone – C. Brooks*, E. Grant*Trombone – Nambo
*Trumpet – Breckenbridge*, Donald Greaves, Vivian Hall
Vocals, Guitar, Congas – Joe Higgs
Written-By, Arranged By, Producer – Joe Higgs

Image A music aficionado redefining possibilities while pushing the limits of success...
view all



Artist Title Album / Riddim Label / Producer iTunes Social  
You have not yet added any tracks.