Gregory Isaacs' classics get remixed Image

by Biko Kennedy

Worldly known and waved-to for his 1985 LP 'Night Nurse', Gregory Isaacs versatile smooth-voiced dancehall crooning will return to shelves on April 15 for the compilation dubbed 'Gregory Isaacs: Remixed'.

United Kingdom's leading Dancehall/Reggae label Necessary Mayhem is set to pay homage to the prolific artiste.

Herald as one of the most important releases of 2013 by Necessary Mayhem, the remix-release is executively produced by legendary record producer Curtis Lynch and pulls tracks from the Gregory Isaacs and Gussie Clarke wide-ranging catalogue.

Known as the 'Cool Ruler,' as he fashioned himself in the title of a 1978 album, Isaacs inked a deal with Island Records in the 1980's and coined the mega hit, Night Nurse, which hammered the club scene in the United States as well as the UK. Over the course of his career's span his polished sound and lyrics that focused on tales of love garnered countless accolades and four Grammy Award nominations.

With a resume packed with mainstream successes inclusive of Etana, Alicia Keys and John Legend, Curtis Lynch presents himself as the man perfect for spearheading such a compilation. The tracks he has selected for the album are among his personal favourites. Lynch is quoted as saying "the clear unmixed vocals and instruments were bliss for me. These masterpieces have been remixed and reworked by some of the industry's finest musicians and audio engineers."

Gregory Isaacs is one of the pioneers of Reggae's 'Lover's Rock' and became one of the genre's major stars in the 1970s. He was 59 when he passed away on October 25, 2010 at his home in south London, after a long battle with lung cancer.

Tracklist: Gregory Isaacs Remixed (CD Version)

1. Jealousy (70's Style) Feat: Dennis Brown and Macka B
2. Report To Me (AWOL)
3. Street Walker (Cool and Deadly Mix) Feat: Dennis Brown
4. Disrespect (Manners Mix) Feat: Shabba Ranks and Josey Wales
5. Let Off Supm (Classic Mix) Feat: Dennis Brown
6. Night Nurse (Strip Mix)
7. Private Beach Party (Harmony Mix)
8. Innercity Lady (Upgrade Mix)
9. Temporary Lover (Part Time Mix)
10. Love Me or Leave Me
11. Plant Some Love (Angels Mix)
12. Jealousy (Sound Check Mix) Feat: Dennis Brown and Macka B
13. Report Dub – Da Grynch
14. Disrespect (Sound Check Mix) Feat: Shabba Ranks and Josey Wales
15. Jealous Dub – Da Grynch

Image A music aficionado redefining possibilities while pushing the limits of success...
view all



Artist Title Album / Riddim Label / Producer iTunes Social  
You have not yet added any tracks.