Dubtonic Kru ready to shake Reggae with an 'Evolution' Image

by Biko Kennedy

With their family-esque bond in place to motivate them, Dubtonic Kru is prepped and ready to release their third studio album, Evolution.

Standing as a two-year winner of the Global Battle of the Bands competition (2010/2011), the band has been steadily gaining global praises, as they win over new listeners with every new venue they embark.

"Well, you see, the music industry is a cycle. It's a new wave of what's happening now," says Deleon 'Jubba' White about the revival of bands and live music in Jamaica. "Conscious music is at the centre stage again. Youths are involved in this movement. But it's not necessarily the end of the Dancehall cycle. And I don't want to see an end. It's all about the evolution of the music. Variety is the spice of life," he continued

L-R - Deleon White, Omar Johnson, Strickland Stone, Luke Dixon and Horace Morgan

The 13-track opus, scheduled for a May 28th release, was recorded in Dubtonic Kru's own studio in Jamaica as well as in the Tuff Gong studio and comes packed with varying dub elements; a sound not heavy used in many of today's Reggae-laced releases.

"Evolution is the journey of life, from nothing to something and from something to nothing", explains guitarist Omar 'Jallanzo' Johnson. "The flow of music is spontaneous and random even. So we go with that flow", annexed lead singer Horace 'Kamau' Morgan while hinting at most of the singles being composed during rehearsal times, sound checks and occasional jam sessions.

"The album shows the continuous growth of Dubtonic Kru's cohesiveness playing together as a band, but most importantly, the evidence of maturity and awareness in speaking about world issues while keeping a smile on the people's face," concludes Jubba.


01. Jah Works

02. Jah Love 

03. Naah Give Up

04. Overcome

05. Shine

06. Evolution

07. Rub A Dub Style

08. Reggae Vibez

09. Murderer

10. Fyah Woman

11. Train To Skaville

12. Cloud 9

13. Live And Love

Image A music aficionado redefining possibilities while pushing the limits of success...
view all



Artist Title Album / Riddim Label / Producer iTunes Social  
You have not yet added any tracks.