Barrington Levy releases acoustic album 'Acousticalevy' Image

by Contributed

Reggae’s “Mellow Canary,” Barrington Levy releases his highly anticipated Acousticalevy album on May 5th through Tafari Records and Levy’s label imprint Black Roses Entertainment.

The album is a compilation of Barrington’s hit songs, re-recorded with a fresh but classic style plus two new songs including “Life Is Great”(ft. Patrice)  and “Times Hard”. Debuting at track number two is Barrington’s famous “Under Mi Sensi” hit, originally released in 1984 with producer Jah Screw, the new acoustical version bring new life to this Hit single. At Number eleven is track “Here I come,” originally released the same year as “Under Mi Sensi,” the titled track secured Barrington a spot in the top of the UK Charts and won Barrington Best Vocalist Award at Britain’s Reggae Awards. It was also these two song that secured Barrington Levy a spot in the Guinness Book of World Records as the first reggae artist to hold both first and second spots in the Charts.

The Acousticalevy album represents Levy’s first studio album since the release of Living Dangerously in 1998. It also represents the first release off of Tafari Records by former RAS Records founder, Doctor Dread in over a decade. Both entities are re-energized and gearing up for a promotional tour across the U.S., Europe and Japan. The tour kicks off on May 20th with an album release concert at New York’s famous B.B. Kings theatre. The album was produced by Barrington Levy and hit-maker, Handel Tucker. Tucker’s previous credits include the platinum-selling record Bonafide by Maxi Priest, The Score album by the Fugees, and I Rise by Etana. The album features brilliant guitar work from Lamont “Monty” Savory of the C Sharp band, along with featured vocals from Patrice on track two, in a song entitled “Life Is Great.”


1. Murdera
2. Life is Great ft. Patrice
3. Unda Mi Sensi
4. Be Strong
5. Prison Oval
6. She’s Mine
7. Black Roses
8. Teach The Youth
9. Things Friends
10. Times Hard
11. Here I Come
12. Don’t Run Away
13. Only You
14. Vice Versa Love
15. Vibes is Right

Image This article was contributed by an external source. To contribute please contact us.
view all



Artist Title Album / Riddim Label / Producer iTunes Social  
You have not yet added any tracks.